On Friday, March 27, 2020, the Commission published a News Release (“Release”) announcing that the Wireless Telecommunication’s Bureau has granted Special Temporary Authority (“STA”) to 33 wireless Internet service providers (“ISPs”) serving 330 counties in 29 states to help them serve rural communities facing an increase in broadband needs during the COVID-19 pandemic for remote learning, telework, and telehealth services. The STA allows these companies to use the lower 45 MHz of spectrum in the 5.9 GHz band for 60 days. More information about the STA application approval can be found here.

The 33 wireless ISPs granted STA will help serve communities in Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and West Virginia.

The STA follows several actions taken by the Commission to ensure that Americans stay connected during the COVID-19 pandemic. For more information on these actions related to coronavirus, visit https://www.fcc.gov/coronavirus.

Please Contact Us if you have any questions.